GETTING INSIGHTS ON HEALTH & MORE

Learn what makes up for a wholesome lifestyle with Consultant Nutritionist/Dietitian Fayza Khan. A self-motivated and driven individual who strives to get things right first, Fayza’s passion, creativity and attention to her profession is matched by thoughtfulness, depth, and rigorous introspection. This week, we have:

What is a gluten-free diet?
Gluten is a general name for the proteins found in wheat, barley, rye and the related cereal grains such as semolina, wheat starch etc. If anyone has either of these autoimmune diseases: celiac disease (CD) or dermatitis herpetiformis (DH), a skin form of celiac disease, even a small amount of gluten is harmful.
In CD, gluten damages the small intestine resulting in poor absorption of nutrients including vitamins and minerals. In DH, gluten causes skin rashes and itching and can also damage the small intestine. A strict gluten-free diet (GFD) is the only effective treatment for CD and DH and requires the lifelong elimination of all foods containing wheat, barley, rye, related cereal grains and regular commercial non-gluten free oats. Celiac disease occurs commonly in patients with other autoimmune disorders such as thyroid disease and type-I diabetes. It can also run-in families, both in first- and second-degree relatives. Therefore, screening of these high-risk individuals should be considered. Nutritional deficiencies of macronutrients and micronutrients are frequently found in untreated or newly diagnosed Celiac Disease patients. It is a lifelong regime to follow for these patients in order to avoid complications related to Celiac disease
Gluten-free diet can be challenging and complicated and a consultation with a registered dietitian with expertise in gluten-free diet is essential. A life-long gluten-free diet is the only way to avoid the symptoms and the complications of celiac disease. Did you know you can actually create various gluten free recipes right in the comfort of your homes? Now let’s look into foods which you should avoid which contain starch:

Wheat based starch
Wheat based cereals, oats, and atta Flour, maida (white flour)
Products made of cereals like bread, biscuits, nan, chapatti, paratha, poori, taftan.

There are many glutens free products available in market by different manufacturers like gluten free bread or flour or biscuits etc
Listed below are some items that may contain gluten.

Broth, soup, soup bases
Burgers, meatloaf
Candies (some chocolates,
chocolate bars and licorice)
Flavored coffees and teas
Imitation seafood
Medications (check with your
pharmacist)
Sausages, hot dogs, deli meats
Sauces, marinades, gravies
Seasonings
Soy sauce



--!>

Committing to the World of Music IN CONVERSATION WITH RIZWAN Anwar

--!>